17 August 2022 22:28


The 2022 state of journalism on Twitter- India TV’s Rajat Sharma comes third globally

India TV editor-in-chief and chairman Rajat Sharma is the third most followed verified journalist on Twitter according to a study by Muck Rack ‘The 2022 State of Journalism on Twitter,’

Rajat Sharma has 9,759,758 followers,while Rajdeep Sardesai has 9,108,518 Twitter followers, Barkha Dutt has 7,234,821 followers. Barkha is closely followed by ZEE News Editor-in-Chief Sudhir Chaudhary with 7,095,165 followers.

Methodology: The following lists were pulled from the Muck Rack platform with follower and join date data coming from Twitter.

The 10 most followed journalists on Twitter

Rachel Maddow usurped Anderson Cooper as the most followed verified journalist on Twitter since we last reported in 2017. There are also a few new names on the list: Rajat Sharma Editor-in-Chief of INDIA TV is No. 3, followed by Washington Post contributor Carlos Loret de Mola.

1.Rachel Maddow: Host, MSNBC

2.Anderson Cooper: Host, CNN

3.Rajat Sharma: Editor-in-Chief and Chairman, INDIA TV

4.Carlos Loret de Mola: Contributor, Washington Post

5.Rajdeep Sardesai: News anchor and journalist, India Today

6.Joaquín López Dóriga: Freelance journalist

7.Fabrizio Romano: Sports Journalist, The Guardian

8.Carmen Aristegui: Owner, Aristegui Noticias

9.Barkha Dutt: Columnist, Washington Post

10.Sudhir Chaudhary: Editor-in-Chief, Zee News

Media outlets with the most tweeting journalists

BBC jumped from No. 7 in 2017 with 494 tweeting journalists listed on Muck Rack to the No. 1 spot with 1,783 tweeting journalists today. Bloomberg News moved up from No. 4 in 2017 to No. 2 with 1,314 tweeting journalists.

Media outlets with the most collective followers

CNN remains the No. 1 outlet with the most collective followers with a following that grew from 38,788,890 in 2017 to 64,926,533 today. ESPN has also held on to their No. 2 spot. The New York Times has moved from No. 4 to No. 3 with 44,055,273 followers.

Read 490 times Last modified on Thursday, 26 May 2022 08:49
Share this article

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.


We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…