27 January 2023 03:13


Six from APAC Named Winners In Young Guns 20 Competition

Six talented young creatives originally from Afghanistan, China, Japan, Singapore and Thailand are among the 31 winners from 10 countries and regions in The One Club for Creativity’s prestigious Young Guns 20 competition, celebrating international creative professionals age 30 or younger.

Young Guns is the industry’s only global, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies and celebrates today’s vanguard of young creatives.

YG20 winners originally from APAC are:

BRTHR (Alex Lee, Kyle Wightman), directors, Serial Pictures, New York (Lee originally from Tokyo)
Alexander Farah, director, editor, Vancouver (originally from Kabul)
Jump Jirakaweekul, graphic designer, New York (originally from Bangkok)
Danica Tan Lijun, animation director, Los Angeles (originally from Singapore)
Xinmei Liu, illustrator, Harrison (US) (originally from Shanghai)
Hiromu Oka, motion designer, London (originally from Tokyo)

The complete list of Young Guns 20 winners can be viewed here, and all 84 finalists from 23 countries can be viewed here. This year’s entries were judged by a diverse jury of 96 top creatives — many of whom are past YG winners — from 41 countries.

Young Guns 20 winners will be celebrated at a special in-person event on November 16, 2022 at Sony Hall in New York, co-hosted by noted artist, author, and designer Timothy Goodman (YG7), and designer Zipeng Zhu (YG13), founder and creative director at Dazzle Studio New York.

The One Club is also holding the Young Guns 20 Creative Choice Award, where the global creative community can explore the work of this year’s winners and vote on which one they believe stands above all others. Voting is open now through November 11, 2022, 11:59 pm ET, with the winner announced at the Young Guns 20 awards ceremony.

All Young Guns winners receive a unique version of the iconic Young Guns Cube, designed exclusively for this year’s incoming class, and have their permanent profile page added to the Young Guns website. Winners also get a complimentary one-year One Club for Creativity membership, permanent membership in the Young Guns network, a chance to be featured in Young Guns events and an assortment of career-boosting opportunities from Young Guns sponsors.

Program branding and design of the Cube award is reimagined each year by a past Young Gun winner. This year’s YG20 branding and award are designed by Zipeng Zhu, with branding font created by NaN Berlin.

Young Guns 20 and other One Club activities are made possible in part through the generous support of sponsors including Shutterstock.

“With every passing year, evolving technology and new ways of working continue to expand and redefine what creativity means,” said Paula Goldner, VP, Global Agency Partnerships at Shutterstock. “By empowering young artists to unlock their artistic potential, Shutterstock and The One Club demonstrate their belief in the fact that creativity should be cutting-edge, yet human-centric.”

Read 1238 times Last modified on Friday, 04 November 2022 01:44
Share this article

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.


We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…